This is the "Home" page of the "Project Management" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Project Management  

This guide was designed for BIT 561-564 and Capstone.
Last Updated: Mar 17, 2014 URL: http://researchguides.walshcollege.edu/projmgt Print Guide

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Keywords To Search

MAIN TERMS:
project management
industrial project management
PMO/Project Management Office

Here are some keywords arranged by category; it is not a complete list; some keywords can fit into more than one category:

INITIATING
mission
funding
budget
forecast
goal setting
leadership
operations research
project finance
project initiation
project life cycle
stakeholders
training
trends

PROJECT PLANNING
best practices
communication
 or organizational communication
critical path (method)
scheduling
forecasts
quality time risk
outsourcing
project phase
project success
protocol
risk management
statistical techniques
strategic management
Six Sigma
technological planning

PROJECT EXECUTION
earned value management
leadership
personnel
human resource management
Monte Carlo simulation
process controls
project execution
project management tools
project procurement management
project risk
project schedule
project scope
time management
tools for project management

PROJECT MONITORING
feedback
earned value management
mathematical models
operations management
performance based assessment
problem solvingproject quality management
teamwork
trouble-shooting
work breakdown structures
value analysis (EVA)

PROJECT CLOSING
project evaluation
performance evaluation
failed projects
critical success
project completion
project termination

USEFUL TERMS to ADD:
studies
benchmarks
polls & surveys

 

 

Factiva Database

Use the Factiva database to read the most current business information.

Click Search.
Enter the search hd= followed by your search terms.
Hd stands for headline; you will will searching for the keywords in the headline.
Example: hd=project management processes.

A-Z Guide to All Library Databases to Find Books and Articles

 

Welcome

This Project Management Guide has been created to help BIT 561-564 and Capstone students find the best library and web resoures for their research.

The Project Management Institute lists at least 5 process areas for study:

1. Project initiating
2. Project Planning
3. Project Executing
4. Project Monitoring and Closing
5. Project Closing

Find Articles

PROQUEST ABI/INFORM COMPLETE DATABASE:
A good database to start with is ProQuest ABI/Inform Complete,
which is very user friendly.

Here are some possible search strategies to limit your results using  two-letter indexes such as su (subject) and ti (title). Enter these searches in the basic search box.

su(project management) and ti(work breakdown structures)
su searches for project management as a subject;
ti(work breakdown structures) searches for those words in the title.
In this example, combining the su and ti means you are searching for project management in the subject field and work breakdown structures in the title.

Don't be afraid to experiment. Compare these search strategies:

ti(program management) and ti(scheduling) with su(program management) and su(scheduling)

If you find, you are not getting the search results you want, try enclosing the search terms in quotation marks:
Example:  ti("project life cycle")
Example: ti("project quality management")

Depending on your focus, other possible terms to search are

contractors
contract management
cost engineering
cost estimates
costs
information technology

guidelines
monte carlo simulation (method)

planning
project management maturity (model)
scheduling
systems integration
techniques
"to-complete performance index"

EBSCO BUSINESS SOURCE ELITE DATABASE

To narrow your results in EBSCO, use index abbreviations like TI (for title) or SU (for subject). Be sure to capitalize.
Example of one subject term search: SU project finance. (You will want to add additional search terms to narrow your results).

Example of two subject terms: SU project management and SU budgets

Example of a search for keywords in the title: TI monte carlo simulation.

Example of a search in the title and subject fields: TI project management maturity and SU project evaluation

JSTOR

Use JSTOR when you find to find scholarly and peer-reviewed articles on a number of business topics. JSTOR includes the MIS Quarterly Journal and the Journal of Operational Research Society to name a few. One way to search is to select Advanced Search from the Search menu, enter "project management" and choose item title from the drop-down menu. A search on project management will bring up an enormous number of hits so you would want to use the advanced search and use more specific keywords for your search.

Possible search strategies that appear at the top of your screen would look like this:

ti: (project planning)
ti:(project implementation)

ti:(project development time)

ti: (project evaluation)

ti:(project monitoring)

ti:(Monte Carlo simulation)

ti: (project completion)

ti:(project termination) or ti: (project abandonment)

ti:(project management: a study in organizational conflict)

Faulkner Databases

Use Faulkner's Advisory for IT Studies (FAITS) database and Faulkner's Security Management Practices to find reports on topics such as

market trends
software selection
best practices
planning and scheduling
IT project risk management
project goals
measuring performance

Enter project management into the search box.

Business Insights: Essentials

The database uses both project management and industrial project management as subject terms.

Click the Search now link under Articles Search. Enter either project management or industrial project management to search by subject.

To search by keywords, choose keyword from the drop-down menu for Search Type.

Enter your search terms.

Example: project management and performance evaluation.
Example: project management execution
Example: project management implementation
Example: project management office (PMO)

Try any of the other keywords listed in the left side of the page.

My Profile

Profile Image
Nancy Brzozowski
Contact Info
Telephone: 248.823.1254
Mon & Tues 12:30 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Wed, Thurs, Friday 8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
First & third Saturdays
Send Email
 

Contact Information

Walsh College Library

Troy
Phone: (248) 823-1228
Fax: (248) 689-9066

Troy Reference Service Av
ailable
Mon. - Thurs. 8:30 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Fri. & Sat. 8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m
Sunday: Noon to 5:00 p.m.

Email

Fall/Winter Troy Library Hours of Operation
Mon.- Thurs. 8:30 a.m.-10:30 p.m.
Fri. & Sat. 8:30 a.m.-5:00 p.m.
Sunday: Noon to 5:00 p.m.

Novi

Phone: (248) 679-1410
Fax: (248) 823-1044

Novi Reference Service Available

Mon. - Thurs. 3:30 p.m. - 10:30 p.m,

Saturday: 8:30 a.m. -3:00 p.m.
Friday & Sunday:  Closed
Email

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip