Annual ReportsBetaBusiness Rankings/Market ShareBusiness RatiosDetailed Company ReportsAnalyst Report10-KCEO CompensationCompany HistoryCompetitorsFinancial DataPrivate CompaniesProductsStock ReportsSWOT AnalysisTicker Symbol
Industry Web Sites
This is the "Books" page of the "MGT 461" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

MGT 461  

Last Updated: Aug 17, 2017 URL: http://researchguides.walshcollege.edu/mgt461 Print Guide

Books Print Page
  Search: 
 

Library Catalog

Access book titles, e-books, journal titles.

 

Google Books

 

Recommended Readings

Cover Art
Economics of Strategy - David Besanko; David Dranove; Scott Schaefer; Mark Shanley
Call Number: HD 30.28 .B4575 2007
ISBN: 0471679453
Publication Date: 2006-08-07


Thinking Strategically - Avinash K. Dixit
Call Number: HD 30.28 .D59 1991
ISBN: 0393029239
Publication Date: 1991-02-01

Cover Art
Reframing Business - Richard Normann
Call Number: HD 30.28 N67 2001
ISBN: 0471485578
Publication Date: 2001-07-10

Cover Art
Competitive Strategy - Michael E. Porter
Call Number: Reserves HD 41 .P67 1980
ISBN: 0029253608
Publication Date: 1980-10-01

Cover Art
The Competitive Advantage - Michael E. Porter
Call Number: HD41 .P668 1985
ISBN: 0029250900
Publication Date: 1985-01-01

Cover Art
The Fifth Discipline - Peter M. Senge
Call Number: HD 58.9 .S46 1990
ISBN: 0385260946
Publication Date: 1990-08-01

Cover Art
Intellectual Capital - Thomas A. Stewart
Call Number: HD 53 .S74 1997
ISBN: 0385482280
Publication Date: 1997-02-17

 

New Books

Cover Art
A Reviewer's Handbook to Business Valuation - Timothy R. Lee; L. Paul Hood
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 9781118025611
Publication Date: 2011-03-23
Thorough guidance and detailed analysis of the valuation business engagement Discussing the practical aspects of business valuation that arise in the context of a tax valuation, this book provides you with detailed analysis of the valuation business engagement process. Detailed discussion is included of various cases outlining errors that appraisers have made in appraisal reports, as well as in-depth discussion of the current appraisal industry issues that are impacting tax valuations.Examines concepts and topics including level of value, the role of estate planners in the business valuation.

Cover Art
Enduring Success: What We Can Learn from the History of Outstanding Corporations - Christian Stadler
Call Number: HD 31 .S657 2011
ISBN: 9780804772211
Publication Date: 2011
Christian Stadler directed a team of 8 researchers in a six-year study of some of Europe's oldest and most stellar companies, targeting nine that have survived for more than 100 years and have outperformed the market over the past 50 years.

Cover Art
That Used to Be Us: How America Fell Behind in the World It Invented and How We Can Come Back. - Thomas L. Friedman & Michael Mandelbaum
Call Number: BF 408 .F747 2011
ISBN: 9780374288907
Publication Date: 2011
The authors make recommendations for meeting four major challenges currently facing the United States, including globalization, the information technology revolution, chronic deficits, and unbalanced energy consumption.

Cover Art
America's Ticking Bankruptcy Bomb: How the Looming Debt Crisis Threatens the American Dream - and How We Can Turn the Tide Before It's Too Late - Ferrara, Peter
Call Number: HJ7537 .F47 2011
ISBN: 9780062025777
Publication Date: 2011
"The federal government is about to go bankrupt. This is THE hot button issue in America from now through the next presidential election in 2012"--Provided by publisher.

Notes: Includes bibliographical references (p. [365]-395) and index.

Cover Art
Aftershock: The Next Economy and America's Future - Reich, Robert B.
Call Number: HC106.84 .R45 2010
ISBN: 9780307592811
Publication Date: 2010
Celebrated economic policy maker and political theorist Robert B. Reich argues that the nation's 2008 economic collapse is the result of an increasing concentration of income and wealth at the top--and a middle class that had to go deeply into debt to maintain a decent standard of living. To ensure that prosperity is widely shared, he continues, requires the implementation of a much broader safety net for the middle class financed by higher marginal tax rates on the very wealthy.

Notes: "This is a Borzoi book"--T.p. verso.
Includes bibliographical references (p. 149-161) and index.

Cover Art
The First Great Recession - Dejuan, Oscar, Febrero, Eladio., & Marcuzzo, Maria Cristina.
Call Number: HB3722 .D44 2011
ISBN: 9781849807456
Publication Date: 2011
Fourteen chapters by eminent scholars investigate the background of the 2008-2010 crisis and draw lessons for economic theory and policy.

Cover Art
Once Upon a Car: The Fall and Resurrection of America's Big Three Automakers- GM, Ford, and Chrysler. - Bill Vlasic
Call Number: HD 9710 .U52 >V53 2011
ISBN: 9780061845628
Publication Date: 2011
"The Detroit bureau chief for The New York Times takes readers inside the Big Three U.S. automakers for the rise and fall --and rise again? -- of this quintessentially American industry"--

Notes: Includes bibliographical references and index.

Cover Art
Regulating Wall Street: The Dodd-Frank Act and the New Architecture of Global Finance. - Viral V. Acharya, Thomas F. Cooley, Matathew P. Richardson, and Ingo Walter
Call Number: HG 181 .R357 2011
ISBN: 9780470768778
Publication Date: 2011
"Experts from NYU Stern School of Business analyze new financial regulations and what they mean for the economy The NYU Stern School of Business is one of the top business schools in the world thanks to the leading academics, researchers, and provocative thinkers who call it home. In Regulating Wall Street: The New Architecture of Global Finance, an impressive group of the Stern school's top authorities on finance combine their expertise in capital markets, risk management, banking, and derivatives to assess the strengths and weaknesses of new regulations in response to the recent global financial crisis. Summarizes key issues that regulatory reform should address Evaluates the key components of regulatory reform Provides analysis of how the reforms will affect financial firms and markets, as well as the real economy The U.S. Congress is on track to complete the most significant changes in financial regulation since the 1930s. Regulating Wall Street: The New Architecture of Global Finance discusses the impact these news laws will have on the U.S. and global financial architecture"--

Notes: Includes bibliographical references and index.

Cover Art
The global M&A tango: How to Reconcile Cultural Differences in Mergers, Acquisitions, and Strategic Partnerships. - Trompenaars, Alfons
Call Number: HD58.8 .T78 2011
ISBN: 9780071761154
Publication Date: 2011
Learn how to reconcile cultural differences in mergers, acquisitions, and strategic partnerships.

Cover Art
All the Devils are Here: the Hidden History of the Financial Crisis - McLean, Bethany and Nocera, Joe.
Call Number: HB 3717 2008 .M35 2011
ISBN: 1591843634
Publication Date: 2011
This surprising narrative goes back more than twenty years to reveal, in rich, anecdotal detail, how Wall Street, the mortgage industry, and the government conspired to change the way Americans bought their homes, creating a perfect storm. The authors take us inside elusive institutions such as Goldman Sachs, AIG, and Fannie Mae, to reveal who changed the game and why.

Notes: Includes bibliographical references and index.

Cover Art
The Other Side of Innovation: Solving the Execution Challenge. - Govindarajan, Vijay and Trimble, Chris
Call Number: HD 45 .G62 2010
ISBN: 1422166961
Publication Date: 2010
The authors reveal how to execute an innovation initiative. Regardless of the type of initiative, the crux of the challenge is that business organizations are not designed for innovation; they are designed for ongoing operations. And there are deep and fundamental conflicts between the two.

Notes: Includes bibliographical references and index.

Cover Art
Car Guys vs Bean Counters: The Battle for the Soul of American Business. - Bob Lutz
Call Number: HD 9710 .U52 .L88 2011
ISBN: 9781591844006
Publication Date: 2011
In 2001, General Motors hired Lutz out of retirement with a mandate to save the company by making great cars again. As vice chairman, he launched a war against the penny-pinching number-crunchers who ran the company by the bottom line, and reinstated a focus on creativity, design, and cars and trucks that would satisfy GM customers. After emerging from bankruptcy in 2009, GM is finally back on track thanks in part to its embrace of Lutz's philosophy. Lutz's common-sense lessons, combined with a generous helping of fascinating anecdotes, will inspire readers in any industry. --from publisher description

Notes: Includes index.

Cover Art
Successfully Navigating the Downturn: Economic and Competitive Survival Strategies. - Todrin, Donald.
Call Number: HB 615 .T63 2011
ISBN: 1599184192
Publication Date: 2011
At some point, every business faces a downturn. The author offers ways to survive and succeed during these downtimes. He covers the 4 principles to successfully navigate a financial downturn, 15 rules of engagement to recast your business, the secrets and myths of workouts with the IRS, SBA, and other lenders, 6 biggest downsizing mistakes, top ways to lower your expenses, and more.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip