Official APA Manual
For answers to your questions about APA style, you should consult the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, which is available in the library (REF BF 76.7 .P83 2010)
These web sites discuss plagiarism and include examples.
Doi in APA Citations
The doi, digital object identifier, is a unique alphanumeric string assigned to an article or electronic book. The publisher assigns a doi when an article or e-book is published and made available electronically. All doi numbers begin with a 10 and contain a prefix and a suffix separated by a slash. You can use the doi of an article in place of the phrase "Retrieved from _______ database. The doctoral students will most likely be using the doi. More information.
DOI or Digital Object Identifiers: APA 6th Edition
APA Explanation of Doi: Electronic Sources and Locator Information
What is a doi, or digital object identifier?
University of Maryland: APA including Doi Examples
APA Style Reference Guide with Doi: Northern Michigan University
Library Guides on Citing in APA
Official APA Web Sites
Check out these web sites from the American Psychological Association for information on APA documentation.
More Web Sites on APA Documentation
APA: Parenthetical Documentation and Bibliographic Form
APA: Electronic Reference Formats Recommended by the American Psychological Association
APA In Text Citations
Common Business Citations in APA Format: Ann Fiegen of Cal State San Marcos
APA Style Essentials
APA Official Tutorial: Basics of APA Style
What's New in the 6th Edition of APA
Tim McAdoo on YouTube has a tutorial: How to Find a Doi
Even though, only EBSCO and FirstSearch examples apply to us, the tutorial is still useful.
APA Style: University of Maryland University College
APA Tutorial: Universities Libraries, University of Southern Mississippi
Cite Feature in Databases
Some of the databases have a cite feature which will generate the APA citation for you. Be aware that the citation can have errors. EBSCO Business Source Elite and Wilson Omni File Full Text Select tend to be the most accurate, with ProQuest next.
EBSCO Business Source Elite and ProQuest ABI/Inform databases use the Cite link. In Wilson OmniFile Full Text Select, the cite link can by seen in the upper right of the screen by clicking on an article title once a search has been conducted. The Gale databases use the Citation Tools link. Examples of Gale databases are Academic One File, Expanded Academic ASAP, General OneFile, General Reference Center Gold, Health Reference Center Academic, Small Business Collection.
Using the Web to Generate Citations
There are web sites that help you generate citations, but it is possible to make errors if you enter the information in the wrong box.
Provides a fill-in form to help you write citations from books and periodicals in APA style
Evaluating Web Sites
If you need information on how to evaluate web sites, take a look at these web sites: