Industry Web Sites
Annual ReportsBetaBusiness Rankings/Market ShareBusiness RatiosDetailed Company ReportsAnalyst ReportCEO CompensationCompany HistoryCompetitorsFinancial DataPrivate CompaniesProductsStock ReportsSWOT AnalysisTicker SymbolAnnual Reports
Videos and Multimedia
Videos and MultimediaInternational Supply Chain Management and LogisticseCommerce
Videos and Multimedia
Health Care ProcessesVideos and Multimedia
Effective Keyword Searching
This is the "Citing in APA Style" page of the "Operations Management" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Last Updated: Sep 7, 2017 URL: http://researchguides.walshcollege.edu/opmgt Print Guide

Citing in APA Style Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Official APA Manual

For answers to your questions about APA style, you should consult the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, which is available in the library (REF BF 76.7 .P83 2010)

 

 

Doi in APA Citations

The doi, digital object identifier, is a unique alphanumeric string assigned to an article or electronic book.  The publisher assigns a doi when an article or e-book is published and made available electronically. All doi numbers begin with a 10 and contain a prefix and a suffix separated by a slash. You can use the doi of an article in place of the phrase "Retrieved from _______ database.  The doctoral students will most likely be using the doi.  More information.

Web Sites:
DOI or Digital Object Identifiers: APA 6th Edition
APA Explanation of Doi: Electronic Sources and Locator Information

What is a doi, or digital object identifier?
University of Maryland: APA including Doi Examples

APA Style Reference Guide with Doi: Northern Michigan University

Free DOI Lookup at Crossref.org


  


Official APA Web Sites

Check out these web sites from the American Psychological Association for information on APA documentation.

 

More Web Sites on APA Documentation

APA: Parenthetical Documentation and Bibliographic Form
http://ucblibraries.colorado.edu/how/citationstyle.htm?CFID=859817&CFTOKEN=32384715

APA: Electronic Reference Formats Recommended by the American Psychological Association
http://www.apastyle.org/elecref.html

APA In Text Citations
http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/560/02/

Common Business Citations in APA Format: Ann Fiegen of Cal State San Marcos
http://library.csusm.edu/subject_guides/business/apa_business.htm

APA Style Essentials
http://www.vanguard.edu/psychology/faculty/douglas-degelman/apa-style/

 

More Tutorials

APA Official Tutorial: Basics of APA Style
http://flash1r.apa.org/apastyle/basics/index.htm

What's New in the 6th Edition of APA
http://www.apastyle.org/learn/tutorials/brief-guide.aspx

Tim McAdoo on YouTube has a tutorial: How to Find a Doi
Even though, only EBSCO and FirstSearch examples apply to us, the tutorial is still useful.
http://blog.apastyle.org/apastyle/2009/12/how-to-find-a-doi.html

APA Style: University of Maryland University College
http://www.umuc.edu/library/libhow/how_cite.cfm

APA Tutorial: Universities Libraries, University of Southern Mississippi
http://www.lib.usm.edu/legacy/tutorials/apatutorial/tutorialindex.html

  


 

Cite Feature in Databases

Some of the databases have a cite feature which will generate the APA citation for you. Be aware that the citation can have errors. EBSCO Business Source Elite and Wilson Omni File Full Text Select tend to be the most accurate, with ProQuest next.

EBSCO Business Source Elite and ProQuest ABI/Inform databases use the Cite link. In Wilson OmniFile Full Text Select, the cite link can by seen in the upper right of the screen by clicking on an article title once a search has been conducted.  The Gale databases use the Citation Tools link. Examples of Gale databases are Academic One File, Expanded Academic ASAP, General OneFile, General Reference Center Gold, Health Reference Center Academic, Small Business Collection.

 

Using the Web to Generate Citations

There are web sites that help you generate citations, but it is possible to make errors if you enter the information in the wrong box.

 Citation Machine
Provides a fill-in form to help you write citations from books and periodicals in APA style

Knight Cite
Helps you generate citations in APA by entering information in boxes


NoodleBib Express
Click on NoodleBib Express to generate citations in APA style and follow the guided directions.

 

 

 

Evaluating Web Sites

  


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip