This is the "Books on Organizational Design" page of the "Organizational Design" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Organizational Design  

Last Updated: Nov 21, 2017 URL: http://researchguides.walshcollege.edu/orgdesign Print Guide

Books on Organizational Design Print Page
  Search: 
 

Library Catalog

Access book titles, e-books, journal titles.

Google Scholar

Use Google Scholar to search the web for scholarly articles on your topic.



 

Find Books on Google

Ask-A-Librarian at Walsh

Or call one of our Branches:

Troy   (248) 823-1228
Novi   (248) 679-1410

 

Class Textbooks

Cover Art
Organizational Theory, Design, and Change - Gareth R. Jones
ISBN: 9780136087311
Publication Date: 2009-01-22

 

eBooks available in the Library

Cover Art
Organization Design: The Collaborative Approach - Naomi Stanford
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 0750663677
Publication Date: 2005-01-01


Cover Art
Productive Workplaces Revisited: Dignity, Meaning, and Community in the 21st Century - Marvin R. Weisbord
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 0787973297
Publication Date: 2004-02-15
A personal prologue: discovering theories x and y -- Scientific management revisited: a tale of two Taylors -- The consulting engineer: Taylor invents a new profession -- Lewin: the practical theorist -- The learning organization: Lewin's legacy to management -- McGregor and the roots of organization development -- The human side of enterprise revisited: a new look at theories x and y -- Undoing Taylorism: Emery, Trist, and the sociotechnical revolution -- Open systems and the new paradigm: how Emery and Trist redefined the workplace -- Adding action to research: Lewin's practice theory road map -- Methods of diagnosis and action: taking snapshots and making movies -- Rethinking organizational improvement: new perspectives on consultation -- Improving whole systems: alternatives to the report-in-the-drawer phenomenon -- Management training in academic medicine -- Productivity after Taylor: systems learning replaces expert analysis -- Managing and consulting in the 21st century -- Transforming teamwork: working relationships in a fast-changing world -- Designing work: structure and process for learning and self-control -- Managing and consulting beyond the design limits: changing everything at once -- Future search: evolving a whole systems improvement strategy -- Improving whole systems worldwide -- How there and then looks from here and now: ten cases revisited -- Epilogue: still caught between paradigms: where do we go from here?

Cover Art
Roadmap to Strategic HR: Turning a Great Idea into a Business Reality - Christensen, Ralph
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780814408674
Publication Date: 2006
The complexity of the challenge -- From rigid administrators to strategic contributors -- Assess the organization's readiness for change -- Develop a framework and language for HR --Understand the senior HR leader's role as organizational architect -- Clarify line management's role in creating and owning human resources strategy -- Create a human and organizational strategy (HRP) -- Understand the five human resources processes through a strategic lens -- Understand workforce planning and staffing through a strategic lens -- Understand performance management through a strategic lens -- Understand organization development through a strategic lens -- Understand learning and development through a strategic lens -- Understand employee relations through a strategic lens -- Clarify the roles of generalist and specialist -- Design the structure of your new HR organization -- Assess and upgrade your HR talent -- Managing the roadblocks in making the transition to strategic HR -- Managing your career in the field of strategic human resources -- The future of human resources.

Notes: Includes bibliographical references and index.

Cover Art
Organizing Business Knowledge: The MIT Process Handbook - Thomas W. Malone; Kevin Crowston; George A. Herman
Call Number: HD30.2 .T67 2003
ISBN: 0585480249
Publication Date: 2003-01-01
Tools for inventing organizations : toward a handbook of organizational processes / Thomas W. Malone ... [et al.] -- The interdisciplinary study of coordination / Thomas W. Malone and Kevin Crowston -- A taxonomy of organizational dependencies and coordination mechanisms / Kevin Crowston -- Toward a design handbook for integrating software components / Chrysanthos Dellarocas -- Defining specialization for process models / George M. Wyner and Jintae Lee -- Process as theory in information systems research / Kevin Crowston -- Grammatical models of organizational processes / Brian T. Pentland -- What is in the process handbook? / George A. Herman and Thomas W. Malone -- Let a thousand gardeners prune : cultivating distributed design in complex organizations / George M. Wyner -- A coordination perspective on software architecture : toward a design handbook for integrating software components / Chrysanthos Dellarocas -- A coordination theory approach to process description and redesign / Kevin Crowston and Charles S. Osborn -- Inventing new business processes using a process repository / Mark Klein ... [et al.] -- The process recombinator : a tool for generating new business process ideas / Abraham Bernstein, Mark Klein, and Thomas W. Malone -- Designing robust business processes / Mark Klein and Chrysanthos Dellarocas -- A new way to manage process knowledge / Nicholas G. Carr -- Toward a systematic repository of knowledge about managing collaborative design conflicts / Mark Klein -- Genre taxonomy : a knowledge repository of communicative actions / Takeshi Yoshioka ... [et al.] -- A coordination perspective on software system design / Chrysanthos Dellarocas -- The product workbench : an environment for the mass-customization of production processes / Abraham Bernstein -- How can cooperative work tools support dynamic group processes? Bridging the specificity frontier / Abraham Bernstein.

Notes: Includes bibliographical references (p. [577]-601) and index.
Electronic reproduction. Boulder, Colo. : NetLibrary, 2003.

Cover Art
Social Capital and Information Technology - Marleen Huysman; Volker Wulf
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 0262083310
Publication Date: 2004-01-01

 

Books on Organization Design in the Print Collections

Cover Art
Levers of Organization Design - Robert Simons
Call Number: HD58.7 .S5824 2005
ISBN: 1591392837
Publication Date: 2005-07-01
Tensions of organization design -- Aligning span of attention -- Unit structure -- Diagnostic control systems -- Interactive networks -- Shared responsibilities -- Adjusting the levers : three examples -- Designing organizations for performance.

Cover Art
The Design of Business - Roger L. Martin
Call Number: HD53 .M3644 2009
ISBN: 1422177807
Publication Date: 2009-10-13

Cover Art
Designing for Growth - Jeanne Liedtka; Tim Ogilvie
Call Number: HD53 .L543 2011
ISBN: 0231158386
Publication Date: 2011-06-21
The why and how of design thinking -- What is? -- What if? -- What wows? -- What works? -- Leading growth and innovation in Your organization.

Cover Art
Achieving Strategic Excellence - Edward E. Lawler; John W. Boudreau; Susan Albers Mohrman; Alice Yee Mark; Beth Neilson; Nora Osganian
Call Number: HF5549 .L2877 2006
ISBN: 0804753318
Publication Date: 2006-04-13
How HR can add value -- Research design -- Role of human resources -- Business strategy -- HR decision science -- HR organizational design -- Human resources activities -- Outsourcing -- Use of information technology -- Effectiveness of information systems -- HR analytics and metrics -- Human resource skills -- Effectiveness of the HR organization -- Determinants of HR effectiveness -- HR excellence.

Cover Art
Inventing the Organizations of the 21st Century - Thomas W. Malone (Editor); Robert Laubacher (Editor); Michael S. Scott Morton (Editor); Sloan School of Management Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: HD31 .I68 2003
ISBN: 0262134314
Publication Date: 2003-09-14
Inventing the organizations of the 21st century -- The boundaries of the firm revisited -- Is empowerment just a fad? Control, decision making, and IT -- Beyond computation: information technology, organizational transformation and business performance -- The dawn of the e-lance economy -- Two scenarios for 21st century organizations : shifting networks of small firms or all-encompassing "virtual countries"? -- The interesting organizations project : digitalization of the 21st century firm -- The Delta model : adaptive management for a changing world -- Clockspeed-based strategies for supply chain design -- Tools for inventing organizations toward a handbook of organizational processes -- Inventing organizations with the process handbook : excerpts from a learning history -- An improvisational model for change management : the case of groupware technologies -- The comparative advantage of x-teams -- Eight imperatives for the new IT organization -- What do we really want? A manifesto for organizations of the 21st century -- Building a new social contract at work : a call to action -- Retreat of the firm and the rise of guilds : the employment relationship in an age of virtual business -- Unexpected connections : considering your employees' personal lives can revitalize your business -- Innovating our way to the next industrial revolution -- Prospects for the new century

Cover Art
Organizational Design - Richard M. Burton; Birge Obel; Gerardine DeSanctis
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 1107004489
Publication Date: 2011-08-04
Machine generated contents note: List of figures; List of tables; Preface to second edition; An outline of the step-by-step approach; Part I. Step 1 -- Getting Started: 1. Define the scope of the organization and assess its goals; Part II. Step 2 -- Strategy: 2. Strategy; 3. Environment; Part III. Step 3 -- Structure: 4. The configuration and complexity of the firm; 5. Distributed organizations; Part IV. Step 4 -- Process and People: 6. Task design; 7. People; 8. Leadership and organizational climate; Part V. Step 5 -- Coordination and Control: 9. Coordination, control, and information systems; 10. Incentives; Part VI. Applying the Step-by-Step Approach in a Dynamic World: 11. Design dynamics: managing change and multi-organizations; 12. New forms and multi-unit organizations: building on the fundamentals; References; Index

Cover Art
Designing Your Organization - Jay R. Galbraith; Amy Kates
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 0787994944
Publication Date: 2007-11-02
Introduction -- The authors -- Fundamentals of organization design -- Designing around the customer -- Organizing across borders -- Making a matrix work -- Solving the centralization-decentralization dilemma -- Organizing for innovation -- Conclusion -- Appendix: Decision tools -- Bibliography.

Cover Art
Leading Organization Design - Gregory Kesler; Amy Kates
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 0470589590
Publication Date: 2010-12-21
"Business leaders recognize the need to continually align their organizations to changes in the marketplace and are seeking guidance from both internal and external practitioners. This book helps consultants, HR and organization development professionals understand the process needed and best practices for implementing, evaluating, and adjusting their organization designs in complex organizations. It offers step-by-step guidance for setting up effective governance and management processes to execute a design, and offers insight into helping leaders gain the skills needed to put the design into action"--

Cover Art
Guide to Organisation Design - Naomi Stanford
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 1861978022
Publication Date: 2007-07-01

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip