Industry Web Sites
Annual ReportsBetaBusiness Rankings/Market ShareBusiness RatiosDetailed Company ReportsAnalyst Report10-KCEO CompensationCompany HistoryCompetitorsFinancial DataPrivate CompaniesProductsStock ReportsSWOT AnalysisTicker Symbol
This is the "Reference Books" page of the "Accounting" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Accounting  

Last Updated: Sep 11, 2017 URL: http://researchguides.walshcollege.edu/accounting Print Guide

Reference Books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Accounting Acronyms

AIN - AICPA Accounting Interpretations

APB - Accounting Principles Board Opinions

APS - APB Statement

ARB - Accounting Research Bulletin

ATB - Accounting Technical Bulletin

CON - Statement of Financial Accounting Concepts (Also called SFAC)

EITF - Emerging Issues Task Force

FAS - FASB Statement of Financial Accounting (Also called SFAS)

FIN - FASB Interpretation

FTB - FASB Technical Bulletin

GAAP - Generally Accepted Accounting Principles

GAAS - Generally Accepted Auditing Standards

GAGAS - Generally Accepted Government Auditing Standards

GASBCS - GASB Concepts Statements

GASBI - GASB Interpretations

GASBTB - GASB Staff Technical Bulletins

GASBS - GASB Statements

SAS - Statement on Auditing Standards

SFAC - FASB Statement of Financial Accounting Concepts (Also called COM)

SFAS - FASB Statement of Financial Accounting Standards (Also called FAS)

SFFAC - Statement of Federal Financial Accounting Concepts

SFFAS - Statement of Federal Financial Accounting Standards

SOP - Statement of Position by AICPA

SSAE - Statement on Standards for Attestation Engagements

 

Accounting and Auditing

Cover Art
Accountants' Handbook
Call Number: REF HF5621.A22 2003 Online available in Lexis Nexis Academic database
Two-volume guide to financial accounting and reporting.

Accounting and Auditing Disclosure Manual
Call Number: REF HF 5616 .U5 .A44; Available online in Checkpoint
Guide to preparing financial statements and auditor's reports.

Audit & Accounting Guides
Call Number: Reference HF5616.U5 A44
Summarizes standards and practices for audit and accounting issues in a number of industries. Various call numbers.

Checklists & Illustrative Financial Statements...
Checklists for preparing financial statements for specific types of companies. Various call numbers.

GAAP Guide
Call Number: REF HF5616.U5 M526
complete coverage of all levels of GAAP, indexed to the new Accounting Standards Codification.

Cover Art
GAAP Implementation Guide
A practical, authoritative guide to implementing GAAP. Available online in Ebsco Ebooks database.

Cover Art
GAAS Guide
Call Number: REF HF5667.M515; Online version in Checkpoint
Describes standards and procedures for auditing and review.

Handbook of Accounting and Auditing
Call Number: REF HF4535.H22
Guide to technical accounting issues in business, and industry-specific information.

Handbook of SEC Accounting & Disclosure
Call Number: REF HF5686.C7 A34
Comprehensive source of SEC disclosures, requirements and filing examples.

Cover Art
Wiley Not-for-Profit GAAP 2015 - Richard F. Larkin; Marie DiTommaso; Warren Ruppel
Call Number: REF HF 5686 .N56 .W55 2015
ISBN: 9781118945247
Publication Date: 2014-12-31

 

Government and Nonprofit Accounting

Cover Art
Financial and Accounting Guide for Not-for-Profit Organizations - Malvern J. Gross; John A. Mattie; John H. McCarthy; Nancy E. Shelmon
Call Number: HF5686.N56 G76 2012
ISBN: 9781118083666
Publication Date: 2012-03-06
"A completely revised and expanded edition of the nonprofit industry finance and accounting standardFilled with authoritative advice on the financial reporting, accounting, and control situations unique to not-for-profit organizations, Financial and Accounting Guide for Not-for-Profit Organizations, Eighth Edition is recognized by professionals as the industry standard reference on not-for-profit finance and accounting. Prepared by the PricewaterhouseCoopers Not-for-Profit Industry Services Group, the book includes accounting, tax, and reporting guidelines for different types of organizations, step-by-step procedures and forms, and more. A new chapter on public debt has also been added. Presents the latest updates to regulatory reporting and disclosure changes in recent years Reflects the totally revamped and revised AICPA accounting and audit guide for not-for-profit organizations Addresses concerns of all nonprofit organizations, including health and welfare organizations, colleges and universities, churches and other religious organizations, libraries, museums, and other smaller groups Includes step-by-step procedures and forms, detailed explanations of financial statements, and a how-to section on setting up and keeping the books Financial and Accounting Guide for Not-for-Profit Organizations, Eighth Edition is the completely revised and expanded new edition of the bestselling not-for-profit accounting guide"--Provided by publisher.

Governmental GAAP Guide: For State and Local Governments
Call Number: REF HJ9777.A3 B35 2009
Discusses the accounting principles applicable to financial reporting by state and local governments.

Governmental GAAP Practice Manual
Call Number: REF HJ10.2 .M543
This companion to Governmental GAAP Guide focuses on the process of preparing financial statements.

GASB Comprehensive Implementation Guide
Call Number: REF HJ9816 .C65
Annual volume in question-and-answer format consolidates implementation guides through the date of publication.

 

International Accounting

European Accounting Guide
Call Number: REF HF5616.E86 E97 2003
Examines the accounting systems of 25 European countries.

Cover Art
TRANSACC Transnational Accounting
Call Number: REF HF5686.I56 T72
Comprehensive study of accounting standards in 21 countries.

 

Reference

The following is a list of book titles available in the online catalog. The links are to the catalog record and not to the full text.

 

BNA Accounting Policy & Practice Portfolios
Call Number: REF HF5616.U5 A345
Summarizes, GAAP authorities, accounting literature and practices for specific topics. Available in print at the Troy campus library, and online in the BNA database.

Cover Art
Dictionary of Accounting Terms
Call Number: REF HF5621.S54 2000
Barron's Business Guides

Dictionary of Accounting
Published by A&C Black. Available online in Credo Reference.

Moody's / Mergent Annuals
Call Number: Various, beginning at REF HG4931.M58
Published annually, these reference books contain financial statements for publicly traded companies and government entitities. Library holds 1957-current.
Online version in the FIS Mergent WebReports database.

RMA Statement Studies
Call Number: REF HF5681.B2 R6
This benchmarking tool lists financial ratios for several industries. Published annually.

Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios
Call Number: REF HF5681.R25 A45
This benchmarking tool lists financial ratios for several industries. Published annually by Leo Troy.

Financial Studies of the Small Business
Call Number: REF HD2346.U5 F55
Sample financial data for small businesses; useful for benchmarking.

Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios
Call Number: REF HF5681.R25 I53
This benchmarking tool lists financial ratios for several industries. Published annually by Dun & Bradstreet.

Cover Art
The Complete CPA Reference - Jae K. Shim; Nick A. Dauber; Joel G. Siegel
Call Number: REF HF5636 .D377 2012
ISBN: 9781118115886
Publication Date: 2012-05-01
Comprehensive reference book covers GAAP, financial statements, managerial accounting, auditing, and taxation.

Cover Art
Business Ratios and Formulas: A Comprehensive Guide
Call Number: REF HF5691.B73 2007
200 business formulas are explained with descriptions, calculation instructions, examples and cautions.

business strategies

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip