Industry Web Sites
Annual ReportsBetaBusiness Rankings/Market ShareBusiness RatiosDetailed Company ReportsAnalyst Report10-KCEO CompensationCompany HistoryCompetitorsFinancial DataPrivate CompaniesProductsStock ReportsSWOT AnalysisTicker Symbol
This is the "FAQs" page of the "Accounting" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Accounting  

Last Updated: Sep 11, 2017 URL: http://researchguides.walshcollege.edu/accounting Print Guide

FAQs Print Page
  Search: 
 

Fraud Cases

Q: How do I locate information about a fraud case?

A: One of the best databases to use for looking up fraud cases is ProQuest ABI/Inform Complete. Go to the advanced search screen and enter the company name, for example, zzzz best in the first search box and choose company/org from the drop-down menu. On the second search box you can enter Securities & Exchange Commission or SEC. Another option is to enter fraud in the search box and choose subject from the drop-down menu. You can also try entering the names of some of the defendants, for example, Barry Minkow.

Factiva is another database where you can find news articles. Click on the Search  tab, then on the Search Builder link. In the free text box, enter hd=zzzz best and SEC. HD stands for headline; you will be searching in the headline field. Choose All dates. Click Run Search. Also try searching the names of the defendants.

You may be able to find cases in the LexisNexis Academic database. Under the section Look up a Legal case, enter the company name, zzzz best, in the box titled Or by parties. Then click Go. Look for cases with the words SECs Litig.

More

 

Codification

Q: Where do I find the new codifications?

A: The best place to find the new Codification Standards is the RIA Checkpoint database. The library provides instructions on using the database.

Q: Where do I look for the superseded FASB documents?

You can also use the RIA Checkpoint database.

Another source for the pre-Codification standards is the FASB web site.

 

Books on Fraud Cases

Subjects to search in the library catalog to find fraud cases:

accounting fraud
corporations--corrupt practices
fraud--prevention
fraud--case studies
fraud investigation
forensic accounting

Cover Art
Handbook of frauds, scams, andswindles: Failures of ethics in leadership - Matulich, S., & Currie, D. M. (Eds.)
Call Number: Ref HV6695 .H28 2009
ISBN: 9781420072853
The book provides an account of frauds around the world. It includes highly-publicized cases such as Ponzi, ZZZZ Best, Enron, Parmalat, and Vivendi, along with lesser-known scandals involving both corporations and indidviduals.

Cover Art
Called to Account: Fourteen financial frauds that shaped the American accounting profession - Clikeman, P. M.
Call Number: Ref HF5616.U5 C575 2009
ISBN: 9780415996983
Called to Account describes fourteen financial frauds that influenced the American public accounting profession and directly led to the development of accounting standards and legislation as practiced in the United States today

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip