BooksWeb Sites for Business Plans
Web Sites on Business Ethics
This is the "Entrepreneurship" page of the "Management" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Management  

Last Updated: Aug 10, 2017 URL: http://researchguides.walshcollege.edu/management Print Guide

Entrepreneurship Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Keywords to Search

business planning
entrepreneurship
licenses/ licensing
new business enterprises
new business enterprises and planning
small  business and management
small  business and finance  
small business and law and legislation                                      

InsYght for Entrepreneurs

"InsYght is a web-based software application developed by Digerati, Inc. and funded by the New Economy Initiative (NEI) connects entrepreneurs to precisely the resources necessary to move their ideas forward." The site is free, but registration is required.

 

New Books

Cover Art
Start Your Own Business. - Staff of Entrepreneur Media Inc.
Call Number: HD 62.5 .E559 2010
ISBN: 1599183870
Publication Date: 2010
This guide offers startup essentials and a comprehensive view of what it takes to survive the crucial first 3 years. Learn to pinpoint your target market, uncover financing information, streamline your business plan, receive vital forms, worksheets, and checklists.

Cover Art
Start Your Own E-Business: Your Step-by-Step Guide to Success (2nd ed.). - Arden, Lynie, & Entrepreneur Press.
Call Number: HF 4448.32 .M37785 2009
ISBN: 9781599181929
The book takes you through funding, building partnerships, launching, and capturing customers. Learn tips on building an effective website, gain infomration on using the latest online techniques, find ou t how to use low-cost, high-impact marketing to capture customers, keep your site running smoothly.

Cover Art
The Intelligent Entrepreneur: How Three Harvard Business School Graduates Learned the 10 Rules of Successful Entrepreneurship. - Murphy, Bill
Call Number: HB 615 .M87 2010
ISBN: 9780805091663
"In 1998, Three Harvard Business School graduates---two men and one woman---turned down six-figure salaries at big corporations, bet on themselves, and launched their own new companies. By the time they returned to Harvard ten years later, their audacity had paid huge dividends. They'd made many millions of dollars, created hundreds of jobs---and left their mark on the world." "Based on dozens of interviews with highly successful entrepreneurs, Harvard Business School professors, and HBS alumni, The Intelligent Entrepreneur tells the compelling and instructive story of how these three young founders developed ideas, assembled teams, built ventures, and achieved their dreams. Over the course of a decade, they learned that starting great companies requires much more than a brilliant idea, good timing, and a ferocious work ethic. Their hard-won insights---distilled into ten key rules---will help anyone become a successful entrepreneur." "What they teach you at Harvard Business School is that intelligent entrepreneurship can be learned. In that spirit, Bill Murphy Jr. uses a unique combination of vivid storytelling and lucid instruction to show would-be entrepreneurs how to improve their odds of creating dynamic, lasting businesses."--BOOK JACKET.

Cover Art
The Lean Startup - Eric Ries
Call Number: HD 62.5 .R545 2011
ISBN: 9780307887894
Publication Date: 2011
Most startups are built to fail. But those failures, according to entrepreneur Eric Ries, are preventable. Startups don't fail because of bad execution, or missed deadlines, or blown budgets. They fail because they are building something nobody wants. Whether they arise from someone's garage or are created within a mature Fortune 500 organization, new ventures, by definition, are designed to create new products or services under conditions of extreme uncertainly. Their primary mission is to find out what customers ultimately will buy. One of the central premises of The Lean Startup movement is what Ries calls "validated learning" about the customer. It is a way of getting continuous feedback from customers so that the company can shift directions or alter its plans inch by inch, minute by minute. Rather than creating an elaborate business plan and a product-centric approach, Lean Startup prizes testing your vision continuously with your customers and making constant adjustments"--

Notes: Includes bibliographical references and index.

 

Books on Setting up a Small Business

GENERAL REFERENCE:

REF HD 62.7 .B865           Business Plans Handbook                 32 Volumes

The Gale Virtual Reference Library database contains many of the ebook versions, as does the Small Business Resource Center database.
This multi-volume set is a  tremendous resource for writing business plans for a wide variety of businesses.  Each plan includes the following information:  an executive summary, objectives, mission, company ownership, company history, services & products, company location and facilities, products and services, product and service description, sales literature, future products and services, market analysis, industry analysis, competitive forces and buying patterns, main competitors, keys to success, market forecast, business strategy and implementation, marketing strategy, strategic alliances, organization structure, management team, personnel plan, financial analysis, and more. Volumes 1--27 can be found online in the Gale Virtual Reference Library database.

 REFHD 62.7 .S62               The Encyclopedia of Small Business                 3 vols.

There is an online ebook.
Subjects covered are the following:  absentee ownership, administrative guidelines, advertising, business opportunities, buying a business, compensation policies,  computerization, copyright, company relations, credit, delegation, crisis management, distribution, diversification, employee benefits programs, employee training, expansion capital, ethics, family run business, expansion, financial control, franchise opportunities, franchising, government contracting, hiring employers, home-based businesses, idea protection, ideas and trends, information systems, insurance, inventory, leadership skills, leasing, legal form, legal matters, licensing, location, management by objection, management for productivity, market research, marketing plan, meetings and the entrepreneur, negotiation techniques, organizational structure, patents, performance evaluation, personal evaluation, presentations, pricing, production control, proprietary information, public offerings, public relations, purchasing guidelines, record keeping, SBA loans, sales, security, selling a business, startup financing, strategic planning, stress management, taxes, telemarketing, team concept, terminating employees, time management, tradeshows, venture capital

 REF HD 62.7 .E58             Entrepreneur Magazine’s Creating a Successful Business Plan

REF HD 62.7 .S624            Small Business Profiles                       2 vols.
These volumes cover over 120 businesses and include topics such as Costs and Profits, Financing, Franchise Opportunities, Layout and Design, Staffing, Marketing, Advertising, Licenses and Insurance, and a Bibliography of Books

 REF HD 62.7 .F35              How to Set Up Your Own Small Business                      2 vols.
Covers market research, sales forecasting, site selection, financing, legal needs, getting started, advertising publicity, sources of supply, bookkeeping, home based business, business policies, selling, insurance, self improvement, managing people, business plans, pitfalls & helpful hints, franchising, computer applications, the Internet.

REF KFM 4407.Z9.H36       How to Start a Business in Michigan, 3rd edition, 2002
S
tart-up procedures, explanations of laws and  regulations, and  licensing procedures

 REF KF1659.Z9 S76         The Legal Guide for Starting & Running a Small Business / by Fred Steingold ; edited by Mary Randolph and Ralph Warner.

 REF HF 5549 .L4625             Complete Manual for Recruiting, Hiring & Retaining Quality Employees

 REF HD 3629 .P76                 Professional and Occupational Licensing Directory

 REF KFM 4410 .A65.M5      Michigan Business Formbook

 REF HD 62.7 .W57                 Checklists and Operating forms for Small Businesses

 REF HD 4928 .N62 .U6353  The Handbook of Employee Benefits

ENTREPRENEUR MAGAZINE SERIES

REF HF 5381 .E57            How to Start a Clothing Store

REF HF 5381 .E57            How To Start a Restaurant

REF HF 5381.E57             How to Start a Restaurant and Five Other Food Businesses

REF HF 5381 .E57            How to Start a Bar/Tavern

REF HF 5381.E57             How to Start a Specialty Travel and Tours Business

REF HD 62.7 .H474           Growing Your Business

REF HF 5381.E57             Entrepreneur Magazine’s How to Start a Staffing Service

REF HF 5381 .E57            Entrepreneur Magazine’s How to Become a Consultant

REF HF 5381 .E57            Entrepreneur Magazine’s How to Start a Business Support Service

REF HG 4027.7 .E585      Entrepreneur Magazine’s Financing Your Small Business:  How to Raise the Money You Need

REF HF 5415 .E58            Entrepreneur Magazine’s Successful Sales & Marketing:  Smart Ways to Boost Your Bottom Line

REF HF 5381 .E57            Entrepreneur Magazine’s How to Start an Import/Export Business

REF HF 5381 .E57            Entrepreneur Magazine’s How to Start an E-Business

REF HF 5381 .E57            How to Start a Seminar Production Business

REF 5381 .E57                   How to Become a Bridal Consultant

REF HF 5381 .E57            Entrepreneur Magazine’s How to Start an Event Planning Service

REF HF 5381 .E57            Entrepreneur Magazine’s Starting & Running Your Homebased Business

REF HF 5381.E57             Bed and Breakfast

REF HD 62.7 .E568           The Entrepreneur Small Business Advisor and Desk Reference

REF HF 5381 .E57            Information Broker

REF HF 5381 .E57            Child Care Services

REF HF 5381 .E57            Coin Laundry

REF HF 5381 .E57 .H1304   Crafts Business

REF HF 5381 .E57            Home Health-Care Agency

REF HF 5381 .E57            Entrepreneur Magazine’s How to Start an Executive Recruiting Service

HD 9005.S73 2011            Start Your Own Food Truck Business.

HF 5429 .K525 2011          Start Your own Retail Business and More: Specialty Food Shop, Gift Shop, Clothing Store, Kiosk.

HD 9999 .W372.S26 2011       Start Your Own Wedding Consultant Business.

Also

REF TX 911.3 .M27 .B76 2003  The Restaurant Manager’s Handbook

 

Featured Book

The current copy of this book is in the CCH Intelliconnect database. Scroll down to Business Strategies in the left navigation pane.

Cover Art
Business Strategies - Kess, Sidney
Call Number: REF KF 1355 .A6 .K47
Publication Date: regularly updated
Four volume loose-leaf covers all aspects of starting and running a business, financial aspects, sale of business, employee benefits, retirement planning, day-to-day operations, doing business overseas, marketing, and much more.

Look up Books by and about Business People

Michigan Regional Entrepreneurial Collaboratives

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip