This is the "Demographics" page of the "Marketing" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Marketing  

Last Updated: Nov 2, 2017 URL: http://researchguides.walshcollege.edu/marketing Print Guide RSS Updates

Demographics Print Page
  Search: 
 

Demographics Resources

  • American Community Survey
    This annual survey is sent to a sampling of the population to estimate demographic data between decennial censuses.
  • Current Population Survey
    The CPS is the primary source of information on the labor force characteristics of the U.S. population. Estimates obtained from the CPS include employment, unemployment, earnings, hours of work, and other indicators.
  • Demographics Now
    Database of U.S. Census data.
  • Economic Census
    This census profiles U.S. national and local economies every five years. Data is available by industry or geography. Data is released over time.
  • Oakland County Demographics
    Facts and Stats on Oakland County
  • Southeast Michigan Council of Governments (SEMCOG)
    Population, housing, economic, land use and transportation characteristics of all communities in Southeast Michigan.
  • Statistical Abstract
    An authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Published annually since 1878.
  • Survey of Business Owners
    Provides comprehensive information on selected economic and demographic characteristics for businesses and business owners by gender, ethnicity, and race.
  • United States Census Bureau
    www.census.gov is the gateway to data available from the United States Census Bureau. Click on American Fact Finder to download data. Links to specific surveys are below.

Consumer Behavior--Online Resources

  • American Demographics
    Articles about consumer and demographics trends.
  • American Marketplace
    Documents America's demographics, spending patterns, and changing lifestyles. Available in Academic Lexis Nexis database. Older editions in print REF HA214.A6
  • Business Decisions database
    BusinessDecision enables you to research consumer market data, demographic data, and market segmentation data associated with geographies you customize such as addresses, ZIP Codes, cities, and much more.
  • Consumer Expenditure Survey
    Provides information on the buying habits of American consumers, including data on their expenditures, income, and consumer unit (families and single consumers) characteristics. The survey data are collected for the Bureau of Labor Statistics by the U.S. Census Bureau.
  • My Best Segments
    Nielsen provides limited information on market segmentation free of charge by using the Zip code lookup feature on this Web site.
  • Nielsen Newswire
    Articles about consumer behavior and spending trends.
  • Trendwatching
    An independent and opinionated trend firm, scanning the globe for the most promising consumer trends, insights and related hands-on business ideas.
 

Consumer Behavior--Reference Books

Millennials in America - Robert L. Scardamalia
Call Number: REF HN60.S287 2015
ISBN: 9781598887792
Publication Date: 2015-11-02
Provides a wide range of characteristics profiling the demographic, social, and economic status of the millennial generation.

American marketplace - New Strategist
Call Number: Online in Academic Lexis Nexis database
Publication Date: 2011
Documents America's demographics, spending patterns, and changing lifestyles. Available in Academic Lexis Nexis database

Household spending: Who spends how much on what - New Strategist
Call Number: HC110.C6 O34
Publication Date: 2011
Based on the consumer expenditure survey, Household Spending contains tables of data on spending for everyday products and services by age, income, household size, region, education and ethnicity.

Best customers: Demographics of consumer demand - New Strategist
Call Number: HC110.C6 B47 2005
Publication Date: 2005
Identifies demographic groups who spend the most for products and services, based on age, income, household type, race and ethnicity, education,and region.

American generations: Who they are, how they live, and what they think - New Strategist
Call Number: Online in Ebsco Ebooks database
Publication Date: 2010
Describes the behavior of the generations from the World War II Generation to Millennials. Includes demographics, behavior, spending, health, housing, and more. Books detailing specific generations are also available.

Editor & Publisher market guide
Call Number: HF5415.1265 .E251
Publication Date: 2007
Census and quality of life data for major U.S. and Canadian markets. Includes information such as principle industries, retailing, colleges and universities and newspapers, transportation, cost of living and more. No longer published. 2007 is last issue available.

Lifestyle market analyst - SRDS
Call Number: HF5415.33.U6 L54
Publication Date: 2008
Demograhic, geographic and lifestyle data for 210 markets. Unique to this source are the Lifestyle Profiles, which include participation in 75 interests and hobbies such as cultural events, camping, science fiction, golf and casino gambling. No longer available in print. 2008 is most current available.

 

Marketing Facts

Demographics: The characteristics of the size and structure of a human population, such as its distribution and age range.

Psychographics: What customers think and feel, how they buy, and associated way-of-life and life-cycle issues.

Source: Business, the Ultimate Resource, accessed through Credo Reference

Public Opinion

The polling sites below focus on lifestyle and behavior. 

  • Gallup
    Polls on politics, economy, well being and world issues.
  • Harris Interactive
    Public opinion polls on a variety of subjects. Archives goes back 40 years.
  • Pew Research Center
    A nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world.
  • Roper Center
    Public Opinion Archives
 

Consumer Behavior - Recent News

Recent News About Consumer Behavior from The New York Times

Loading Loading...
blank padding
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip