This is the "Industry Information" page of the "Marketing" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Marketing  

Last Updated: Nov 2, 2017 URL: http://researchguides.walshcollege.edu/marketing Print Guide RSS Updates

Industry Information Print Page
  Search: 
 

Databases for Industry Information

  • Business Insights: Global
    Industry reports include market value, sectors, share and forecast. Searchable by keyword or SIC code.
  • FirstResearch
    Industry information on small businesses
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Get 2-3 page reports on industries when you search by SIC or NAICS numbers.
  • S&P NetAdvantage
    U.S. Industry profiles, trends, ratios, and statistics, stock reports, mutual fund information, as well as Industry Global Supplements for Europe, Asia, Latin America
 

Reference books

Encyclopedia of emerging industries. (2007). Millerton, NY: Grey House. (HD2324 .E528 2007)

Encyclopedia of global industries. (2007). Millerton, NY: Grey House. (HD2324 .E528 2007)

Handbook of industry profiles. (2008) Austin, TX: Hoovers. (HC102 .H36 2008)

 

Trade Associations

Trade associations and magazines provide valuable research about the industries they serve. Find association web sites using the resources below. Or simply enter the name of the industry and the word "association" in a search engine.

Business organizations, agencies, and publications directory. (2006). Detroit: Gale Research. (HF3010.B86 2006)

Encyclopedia of associations. (2008). Detroit: Gale Research. (AS22.E5 2008) 

Encyclopedia of associations. International organizations. (1998). Detroit: Gale Research. (AS8.E53 1998)

Encyclopedia of associations. Regional, state, and local organizations. (2009). Detroit: Gale Research. (AS29.5.R434 2009)

 

 

Government resources

  • County Business Patterns
    Economic data for states and counties. Data includes number of establishments, employment, and payroll.
  • Economic census
    The U.S. Economic Census identifies an industry's size based on number of establishmets, annual sales, number of employees, and payroll.

NAICS and SIC codes

NAICS (North American Industry Classificatin System) codes and their predecesor, SIC (Standard Industrial Classification) codes, are used to identify industries. Every business identifies its activities by at least one code. Many resources are searchable by NAICS or SIC codes. To look up NAICS and SIC codes, use the NAICS web site: http://www.naics.com/search.htm

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip