This is the "New Books" page of the "Communication" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Communication  

Last Updated: Sep 11, 2017 URL: http://researchguides.walshcollege.edu/communicationguide Print Guide

New Books Print Page
  Search: 
 

Library Catalog

Access book titles, e-books, journal titles.

 

Google Books

 

New Books

Cover Art
Write Like a Pro - Carl D. Hausman
Call Number: (PE1115.H39 2016 )
ISBN: 9781440844140
Publication Date: 2016-03-28
"For those looking to become great business writers, this practical guide supplies clear instruction and examples of how to organize thoughts into written form, impart information with pinpoint accuracy, persuade, and hold the reader's interest: in short, to use language to get what you want. Presents a clear, no-nonsense guide to excellent writing using easily grasped tricks and techniques employed by top writers Encapsulates these key writing methodologies in ten basic techniques, each broken down into ten actionable steps Provides an immediate "take-away" and valuable, practical advice for becoming a better writer in each paragraph Describes and demonstrates the steps in a way that is memorable and even enjoyable to learn"--
"I've organized the principles of elegant writing into ten basic techniques. Each technique is explained in ten sets of instructions. When appropriate, which it usually is, I include an example clearly demonstrating how the principle being discussed has been used by an accomplished writer to great effect. But why my obsession with ten? I believe that as humans we are hard-wired to think and absorb in increments of ten"--Author

Cover Art
Writing Well in the 21st Century - Linda Spencer
Call Number: LB 2369 .S65 2014
ISBN: 9781442227576
Publication Date: 2014-04-10
This guide provides students, career-builders, and professional writers with the basic elements needed for writing in the 21st century. It fully explains, and links, the five essentials of good writing: punctuation, grammar, fact-checking, style, and voice. Throughout history technology has changed both language and writing. Today in the digital age, language and writing are changing at a phenomenal pace. Students, career-builders, and professional writers need this guide that reviews those changes and connects the essentials for creating good writing in the digital age. The book gives writers the tools needed today. Among other essentials, the book: Resolves comma issues by explaining the Open and Close Punctuation systems (writers select which system to use in their writing) ; Clarifies active and passive voice verbs and advocates using strong, specific verbs in writing ; Provides guidelines for choosing credible online websites when searching for resources ; Examines attributes of essentials that contribute to a writing style and urges a critical review of verbs ; Connects elements that combine to create a voice in a written piece. Overall this guide gives readers the basics they need to know to create well-written documents for school, work and in their professional writing. -- From publishers website.

Cover Art
How to Get People to Do Stuff - Susan Weinschenk
Call Number: BF637.P4 W45 2013
ISBN: 9780321884503
Publication Date: 2013-03-11
Contents:
The seven drives -- The need to belong -- Habits -- The power of stories -- Carrots and sticks -- Instincts -- The desire for mastery -- Tricks of the mind -- Case studies : using drivers and strategies in the real world -- The strategy list.

Cover Art
How to Write Anything - Laura Brown
Call Number: PE1408 .B8573 2014
ISBN: 9780393240146
Publication Date: 2014-04-14
The book provides a common-sense approach on how to write anything, from college applications to baby announcements, and includes information on how to appropriately craft a message, choose the right words, and the select the most appropriate medium.

Cover Art
Quick and Painless Business Writing - Susan F. Benjamin
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 9781564149008
Publication Date: 2011
Five no-worry reality checks -- Ouchless nouns -- Noun accomplices : articles, pronouns and adjectives -- Verbs : the power words -- Glue words -- Sentence savvy -- Plain language primer : so what are the big guys afraid of? -- Why the active voice isn't and a few words about being concise -- Reader-focus : bowing to the king and the queen of the universe -- The truth about tone, damn it! -- Seducing, spinning, and sedating : all about structure -- The paragraph : on closer inspection.

Cover Art
Business Writing in the Digital Age - Natalie Canavor
Call Number: HF5718.3 .C365 2012
ISBN: 9781412992503
Publication Date: 2011-10-20
Business Writing for the Digital Age: A Student's Guide can be used as a core or supplementary text for business writing courses and across the Business and Management curriculum as a student aid to better writing. The text instructs business students how to write for the 21st century business environment in the style it demands: clearly, concisely, powerfully, and with individuality. It also addresses explicitly the digital realm of email, social networking, and social media strategies. The text gives writing teachers a complete structure for teaching business writing that they can adapt to their own preferences. It is also useful for professors who teach general business subjects and recognize a need to help their students write better--a need that is almost universally acknowledged. To serve these dual purposes, the book offers a flexible resource. Its lessons can be taught progressively, drawing on the assignments and discussion questions included. Or, teachers can choose to spend little class time explicitly on writing and instead, assign the book as independent study and evaluate writing progress as a component of regular assigned projects"--

Cover Art
Making Business Presentations: How to Deliver a Winning Message. - Khan-Panni, P.
Call Number: HF 5718.22 .K46 2012
ISBN: 9780273757993
Publication Date: 2012
Written by a co-founder of the Professional Speaking Association, the book discusses how to plan, write, and deliver your presentation with maximum impact; it also provides tips for consistently improving your performance.

Cover Art
How to Write Persuasively Today - Carolyn Davis
Call Number: PE 1431 .D38 2010
ISBN: 0313378371
Publication Date: 2010
From the Publisher: How to Write Persuasively Today is an authoritative handbook for getting your point across, a step-by-step how-to guide for making sure you say what you mean in the clearest, most effective way possible. Drawing on over three decades of professional writing and speaking experience, author Carolyn Davis breaks down the challenges, issues, and potential pitfalls involved in persuasive writing, providing practical strategies and solutions for communicating with the utmost clarity, precision, force, and style. It is a presentation filled with vivid, often humorous real-life examples of writing and presentations of all kinds-one that also equips readers with the tools needed to assess and evaluate everything from advertising claims to political propaganda to survey results.

Notes: Includes bibliographical references and index.

Cover Art
Better PowerPoint: Quick Fixes Based on How Your Audience Thinks - Kosslyn, Stephen Michael
Call Number: HF 5718.22 .K67
ISBN: 0195376757
Publication Date: New York : Oxford University Press, c2011.

Cover Art
Win: The key principles to take your business from ordinary to extraordinary. - Luntz, Frank I.
Call Number: HF 5718.L86 2011
ISBN: 1401323995
Based on a premise that effective communication skills are at the heart of business excellence, the author cites examples of leading companies and individuals while sharing counsel on how to conduct one-on-one meetings and public presentations.

Cover Art
The AMA Handbook of Business Writing - Wilson, K. & Wauson, J.
Call Number: HF5726 .W55 2010 E-book
ISBN: 0814415903
Publication Date: 2010
The book serves as a guide to style, grammar, punctuation, usage, construction, and formatting. It includes sample letters, memos, reports, abstracts, policies, proposals, and other business documents.

Cover Art
The AMA Handbook of Business Documents - Wilson, K. & Wauson, J.
Call Number: HF5726 .W675 2011
ISBN: 0814417698
The book is a collection of guidelines and samples for creating a wide variety of business documents such as annual reports, brochures, business letters, business plans, grant proposals, mission statements, newsletters, policies, press releases, proposals, resumes, surveys, speeches, training manuals, user guides, and white papers.

Cover Art
Improve Your Global Business English - Fiona Talbot; Sudakshina Bhattacharjee
Call Number: PE 1479 .B87 .T353
ISBN: 9780749466138
Publication Date: 2012-12-15
Contents: Writing English for global business -- Why do we write in business? -- Deciding your business writing objectives in the digital age -- Common challenges in business English in a global workplace -- How does writing in a global economy affect us all? -- Writing emails -- Making an impact -- Using the global word power skills guide -- Report writing -- Writing agendas, notes and minutes of meetings -- Personal and company promotion in the digital age -- Using word power skills with social networking media -- Quality matters -- Writing tips for everyday business -- The kaleidoscope effect: further perspectives for global business in English.

Cover Art
The nuts and bolts of college writing. - Harvey, M.
Call Number: PE 1408 .H3927
ISBN: 0872205746
Publication Date: 2003
1. Concision -- The pompous style at school -- 2. Clarity -- Choose verbs over nominalizations -- Choose active verbs over linking verbs -- Choose the active voice over the passive voice -- Clarity and honesty -- 3. Flow -- Use consistent characters -- Use pronouns and other pointers -- Use punch lines -- Use conjunctions and other linking words -- 4. Punctuation -- Commas and comma splices -- Semicolons -- Colons -- Dashes -- Parentheses -- Questions -- 5. Gracefulness -- The historical present -- Appositives -- Parallelism -- Tricolon -- Concession -- Qualification -- 6. Using sources -- Winning your audience's trust -- Weaving sources into your prose -- Quoting effectively -- 7. Paragraphs -- The function of paragraphs -- Opening sentences -- Designing paragraphs -- Sections -- 8. Beginnings and endings -- Beginnings -- Endings -- Last thought -- Documentation and citation formats -- Generic formats -- CMS, MLA, and APA style guide.
1. Concision -- The pompous style at school -- 2. Clarity -- Choose verbs over nominalizations -- Choose active verbs over linking verbs -- Choose the active voice over the passive voice -- Clarity and honesty -- 3. Flow -- Use consistent characters -- Use pronouns and other pointers -- Use punch lines -- Use conjunctions and other linking words -- 4. Punctuation -- Commas and comma splices -- Semicolons -- Colons -- Dashes -- Parentheses -- Questions -- 5. Gracefulness -- The historical present -- Appositives -- Parallelism -- Tricolon -- Concession -- Qualification -- 6. Using sources -- Winning your audience's trust -- Weaving sources into your prose -- Quoting effectively -- 7. Paragraphs -- The function of paragraphs -- Opening sentences -- Designing paragraphs -- Sections -- 8. Beginning and endings -- Beginnings -- Endings -- Last thought -- Documentation and citation formats -- Generic formats -- CMS, MLA, and APA style guide.

Cover Art
People-Centric Skills - Danny M. Goldberg; Manny Rosefeld
Call Number: HD 30.3 .G63
ISBN: 9781118850817
Publication Date: 2014-07-28
Contents:
Foreword -- Preface -- Acknowledgments -- The people-centric journey begins -- Agreeing to the plan -- Corporate culture mentoring -- Managing conflict with difficult executives -- About the authors -- Index.

Cover Art
Common Mistakes Writers Make - Eva Marie Everson
ISBN: 9781941103098
Publication Date: 2014-02-01

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Dianne White
Contact Info
(248) 823-1338 (Troy)
(248) 679-1410 (Novi)
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip