This is the "Doing Presentations" page of the "Communication" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Communication  

Last Updated: Sep 11, 2017 URL: http://researchguides.walshcollege.edu/communicationguide Print Guide

Doing Presentations Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Developing Your Topic

Some pointers to consider when you develop your group topic can be found under this link:

Tips on Developing Your Topic

Personalizing the Web

Eli Pariser gives a TED talk on the dangers of using filters to get information from the web. He mentions Facebook, Google, Yahoo News, Huffington Post, and the New York Times. These sites display what they think you want to see based on previous search history and on the links you first select from your searches. The problem is that you will not see what is edited out, and your online universe will be limited as filters will edit out new people, as well as new ideas and perspectives.

Tips on Doing Presentations

The COM instructors recommend these two sites to help you with your presentations:

 

New Books

Cover Art
How to Deliver a Great Speech That Will Change Minds and Influence People - Richard Helweg
Call Number: PN 4129.15 .H385
ISBN: 9781601386090
Publication Date: 2015
"According to The Phobia Clinic, fear of public speaking ranks among Americans top dreads, surpassing fear of illness, flying, terrorism, and often the fear of death itself. It s no wonder delivering a speech can seem like a large hurdle for many people. Even the most brilliant ideas have to be communicated with poise and enthusiasm or the message will be lost due to poor delivery. You will discover how to overcome public speaking fright and phobia by being prepared, rehearsed, and ready for a number of unforeseen circumstances. You will learn how to write a memorable speech and how to impact and persuade your audience. This book also includes tips on understanding your audience, holding their attention, knowing what to talk about and what not to include, organizing your speech, perfecting your timing, handling Q&A sessions, and much more. You will also grasp how to put together informative, educational, and well-designed visual aides, including electronic presentations. How to Deliver a Great Speech that Will Change Minds and Influence People will also show you how you can gauge your audience s reaction and tailor the remainder of your presentation to have maximum appeal to the group you are speaking to. There s no need to worry with this book in your arsenal: You'll learn everything you need to know to deliver an expertly written speech with poise and confidence." --Amazon.com.

Cover Art
Your Perfect Presentation - Bill Hoogterp
Call Number: PN4192.B87 H66 2014
ISBN: 9780071825009
Publication Date: 2014-03-17

Cover Art
Talk Like TED - Carmine Gallo
Call Number: HF5718.22 .G353 2014
ISBN: 9781250041128
Publication Date: 2014-03-04
Public speaking coach and bestselling author Gallo has broken down hundreds of TED talks and interviewed the most popular TED (technology, entertainment, design) presenters as well as the top researchers in the fields of psychology, communications, and neuroscience to get their cutting-edge insights and to reveal the nine secrets of all successful TED presentations.

Cover Art
How to Write Persuasively Today - Carolyn Davis
Call Number: PE 1431 .D38 2010
ISBN: 0313378371
Publication Date: 2010
From the Publisher: How to Write Persuasively Today is an authoritative handbook for getting your point across, a step-by-step how-to guide for making sure you say what you mean in the clearest, most effective way possible. Drawing on over three decades of professional writing and speaking experience, author Carolyn Davis breaks down the challenges, issues, and potential pitfalls involved in persuasive writing, providing practical strategies and solutions for communicating with the utmost clarity, precision, force, and style. It is a presentation filled with vivid, often humorous real-life examples of writing and presentations of all kinds-one that also equips readers with the tools needed to assess and evaluate everything from advertising claims to political propaganda to survey results.

Notes: Includes bibliographical references and index.

Cover Art
Better PowerPoint: Quick Fixes Based on How Your Audience Thinks - Kosslyn, Stephen Michael
Call Number: HF 5718.22 .K67
ISBN: 0195376757
Publication Date: New York : Oxford University Press, c2011.

Cover Art
Win: The key principles to take your business from ordinary to extraordinary. - Luntz, Frank I.
Call Number: HF 5718.L86 2011
ISBN: 1401323995
Based on a premise that effective communication skills are at the heart of business excellence, the author cites examples of leading companies and individuals while sharing counsel on how to conduct one-on-one meetings and public presentations.

Cover Art
The AMA Handbook of Business Writing - Wilson, K. & Wauson, J.
Call Number: HF5726 .W55 2010 E-book
ISBN: 0814415903
Publication Date: 2010
The book serves as a guide to style, grammar, punctuation, usage, construction, and formatting. It includes sample letters, memos, reports, abstracts, policies, proposals, and other business documents.

Cover Art
The AMA Handbook of Business Documents - Wilson, K. & Wauson, J.
Call Number: HF5726 .W675 2011
ISBN: 0814417698
The book is a collection of guidelines and samples for creating a wide variety of business documents such as annual reports, brochures, business letters, business plans, grant proposals, mission statements, newsletters, policies, press releases, proposals, resumes, surveys, speeches, training manuals, user guides, and white papers.

Can grammar have glamor?

Check out this new book available at the Troy Library:

Clark, R. P.  (2010). The glamour of grammar: A guide to the magic and mystery of practical English. New York: Little, Brown, and Company. (PE 1112 .C528 2010)

A grammar handbook going into detail about grammar rules is

Rosen, L. J. (2000). The Allyn & Bacon handbook. Boston: Allyn & Bacon. (REF PE 1408 .R677)

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip