Annual ReportsBetaBusiness Rankings/Market ShareBusiness RatiosDetailed Company ReportsAnalyst Report10-KCEO CompensationCompany HistoryCompetitorsFinancial DataPrivate CompaniesProductsStock ReportsSWOT AnalysisTicker Symbol
Industry Web Sites
Reference BooksWeb Sites for Business Plans
Web Sites on Business Ethics
This is the "Tutorials" page of the "Finance Information" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Finance Information  

Access databases, web sites, and current business financial information
Last Updated: Sep 20, 2017 URL: http://researchguides.walshcollege.edu/finance Print Guide

Tutorials Print Page
  Search: 
 

KhanAcademy

The Finance & Economics section  links to a number of topics: core finance, valuation and investing, venture capital and capital markets, credit crisis, Paulson Bailout, Geithner Plan, currency, current economics, banking and finance, macroeconomics, microeconomics, Greek debt crisis.

 

Welcome!

 l Logging into the Library Portal for Database Access

Tutorial

Library Handout: Portal Page

_______________________________________________________________

l   Finding Full Text Articles- Locate which online database indexes the full text of specific magazines, journals, or newspapers.

Tutorial: E-Journals: Finding Full Text Articles

Library handout

 ________________________________________________________________

l ProQuest ABI/Inform Global provides access to full text magazine and journal articles on business and management topics.

Tutorial: ProQuest ABI/Inform Global : Finding Magazine and Journal Articles on Companies
Library Handout: ProQuest ABI/Inform Global Search for Articles

__________________________________________________________________

l (InfoTrac) Business Collection provides coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice. Users will understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through business and trade publications, complemented by a selection of international, U.S., and regional news publications

Tutorial

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

l Business Insights: Global provides information on companies, brands, markets and industries including market trends, mergers and acquisitions, management issues and company overviews and financials. Access full text business and trade journals, newspapers and company directory profiles.

Business Insights Global Tutorials

Business Insights: Global Tip Sheet

_____________________________________________________________

l EBSCO Business Source Elite provides full text articles on a wide variety of business topics. The Company Profiles section provides company reports which include history, key employees, major products and services, revenue analysis, SWOT analysis, list of top competitors of subsidiaries.

Tutorial: EBSCO Company Profiles/SWOT Analysis

Library Handout: EBSCO General Search

Library Handout: EBSCO Company Profiles

_________________________________________________________________

l   Factiva –The database provides business articles from thousands of leading business and management journals, as well as company financials and reports.

Tutorial: Factiva Headline Search for Articles (under construction)

Library Handout: Easy Search for Articles by Headline

Tutorial: Factiva News Search

Tutorial: Factiva Company Snapshot with SWOT Analysis

Tutorial: Factiva Company Reports and Financials

Tutorial: Factiva Simple Search for Articles

Library Handout: Factiva: Basic Search Handout

Library Handout Factiva Company Report Search

Library Handout on Finding Industry Snapshots

For more information on searching the Factiva database, check out the vendor’s flash tutorials at http://www.proquest.com/pdpq/factiva

______________________________________________________________

l First Research is a Dun & Bradstreet database covering 700 industry profiles that are updated quarterly. There is also information on state economics, including employment, unemployment, status of state industries, local real estate, etc.

First Research provides instructional videos: after accessing the database, select Self-Paced Training Videos under Tools & Resources

Tutorial: FirstResearch (Industry Information)

Library Handout: FirstResearch: Industry Information  

____________________________________________________________________

l FIS Mergent Online Company Data is one of the best databases to use for company research. It provides company financial reports and annual reports on over 10,000 public companies that are traded on the New York, American, and NASDAQ stock exchanges.

Tutorial: FIS Company Research: Getting Financials

Tutorial: Locating an Annual Report

Tutorial: Doing a Company Comparison Report (Peer Group Report) 

Tutorial: Getting Predefined Company Reports(Choose from a list of reports with different contents)

Library Handout: FIS Mergent Online Company Profiles

___________________________________________________________________

Gale Directory Library provides access to the Business Rankings Annual and to Ward's Business Directory of Private and Public Companies in Canada and Mexico.

Tutorial: Basics
Tutorial: Searching

____________________________________________________________________

l General Business File ASAP provides full text articles on companies, industries, and products, as well as analyst reports.

Tutorial: General Business File ASAP: Getting an Analyst Report

Library Handout on Searching General Business File ASAP

______________________________________________________________________

l LexisNexis Academic provides full text articles on business and legal topics, as well company snapshot reports and downloadable financial tables.

Tutorial: LexisNexis Academic Introduction
Tutorial: LexisNexis Academic: Company Dossier Report: Part 1

Tutorial: LexisNexis Academic: Financial Tables and Analyst Reports: Part 2

Library Handout LexisNexis Company Dossier Search

___________________________________________________________________

Morningstar

Tutorial: Morningstar Research Center

Quick Guide:  Morningstar Investment Research Center

______________________________________________________________________

l Standard and Poor’s NetAdvantage is one of the major databases to use for investment research. It provides information on company stocks and industries, bonds, and mutual funds.

Tutorial: S&P NetAdvantage: Stock Report

Tutorial: S&P NetAdvantage Industry Information

Library Handout: S & P NetAdvantage

____________________________________________________________________

 l ValueLine Online is a highly respected research database which includes rankings and analyses on the performance of thousands of stocks. The database also includes industry information, Edgar filings, and industry peer group lists.

ValueLine Stock Report in PDF Format: Part 1

ValueLine: Stock Report in HTML Format with an Industry Report: Part 2

ValueLine Industry Report

Library Handout: ValueLine

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip