This is the "Home" page of the "COM 320 Tutorial" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

COM 320 Tutorial  

Last Updated: Jul 10, 2017 URL: http://researchguides.walshcollege.edu/comtutor Print Guide
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Find Books in the Online Catalog

Find book titles, ebooks in full text, journal titles

COM 320 Research Guide

Link to the complete Communication Guide for COM 320 for more information.

 

Library Contact Information

         Troy Campus Library

Phone: (248) 823-1228
Fax: (248) 689-9066

Reference Service Available
Mon.-Thurs. 8:30 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Fri. 8:30 a.m.- 5:00 p.m. 
Sat. 8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sunday: Noon - 5:00 p.m.
Email

Fall, Winter, Spring Troy Library Hours of Operation
Mon.-Thurs. 8:30 a.m.-10:30 p.m.
Friday: 8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Saturday: 8:30 a.m.- 5:00 p.m.
Sunday: Noon - 5:00 p.m.

         Novi Campus Library

Phone: (248) 679-1410
Fax: (248) 823-1044

Reference Service Available
Mon.-Thur. 3:30 p.m.-10:30 p.m.
Fri. & Sun: Closed
Saturday: 8:30 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.


Email

 

Welcome to This Tutorial

The librarians have put together this guide with tutorials illustrating how the various databases can be searched for articles, relevant to COM 320 research. You can also call any of the librarians listed on the right side of the screen for additional help or email us at librarian@walshcollege.edu.

Introduction

Learn about the library web and portal pages.

Get Research Tips

Learn how to find, evaluate, and use information in your research.

Using Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Opposing Viewpoints in Context is a database that provides opinion-based articles on social issues. It is a quick way to read about the pros and cons on various issues.

If you ever want ideas for possible research topics, this database will definitely help you.

FACTIVA Database for the WSJ

  • FACTIVA: WSJ
    With the FACTIVA database you can read the current day's issue of the Wall Street Journal, as well as other leading newspapers, such as the New York Times, the Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, Barron's, as well as the most current issue of Forbes magazine.
  • FACTIVA: Current Articles in Newspapers and Magazines
    FACTIVA is an excellent database to use when you want current national, international, or regional news from leading business newspapers, magazines, newswires, websites, TV or radio podcasts, and company reports. The database is updated daily and has thousands of articles which have been specially selected by the editors for quality.
  • Go directly to the FACTIVA database

ProQuest ABI/Inform Complete Database

ABI/InformComplete contains the full text of business information, from scholarly journals and dissertations, to company, industry and market focused trade news.  The database features the latest news from top publications like the Wall Street Journal, Financial Times and The Economist.  Students find it an excellent first stop for their research because of its ease of use and  broad coverage of business and management topics.

EBSCO Business Source Elite Database

EBSCO Business Source Elite offers full text coverage from business, management, and economic magazines and journals.  Some of the topics covered include accounting, banking,company information, finance, international business, marketing, sales, etc.

LexisNexis Academic

Lexis Nexis Academic database includes more than 10,000 news sources, including national and international newspapers and magazine, journals, campus newspapers, wire services, blogs and broadcast transcripts. The database also includes legal sources and company information. Students looking for articles should only search the database's news section. Because Lexis Nexis Academic is such a large database, and doesn't focus on a specific topic, results are often wide-ranging. Be as specific as you can when searching this database.

General Reference Center Gold

General Reference Center Gold provides access to a wide range of full-text titles from national news magazines, core business journals, and encyclopedias. There are over 5,700 titles, more than 4,400 in full text going back 25 years. Topics covered include current events, business and industry trends, arts and sciences, popular culture, health, sports, hobbies, etc. The database includes podcasts from National Public Radio, Science@NASA, Headline News and NRO radio. There are links to over 5,000 video files including television shows like the Today Show, NBC Nightly News, NRO TV and Meet the Press. Major newspapers include the New York Times, Christian Science Monitor, and others.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Dianne White

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Kim Reeves
Contact Info
phone: 1-248-823-1251 (Troy), 1-248-679-1410 (Novi)
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip