This is the "Home" page of the "Communication" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content


Last Updated: Nov 13, 2015 URL: Print Guide

Home Print Page

Start with General Tutorials

If you are a new student and don't know where to begin finding resources, view this tutorial on how to log into the portal to find books and articles.

Look for Books on Your Topic

Not sure about how to look for a book in the catalog. View this flash tutorial.

Online Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Use this link to look up definitions, concepts,  and encyclopedia-type entries.

Practicing Academic Integrity

COM students are required to read this article on Academic Integrity.

Starting Your Research

If you do not know how to get to the library databases, go to the box, Start with General Tutorials (box on the top left), to access a tutorial and library handout.

If you need help choosing a topic, there are two resources you can use. Under Finding Articles, select the Opposing Views in Context database. To learn to search the database, go to the Tutorials tab and find the one for this database. Another database to use is the Research Companion database (it has a separate box below, called Help with Research ); it provides short videos on how to do research, evaluate information, and avoid plagiarism.

An excellent database to start your research is the user-friendly ProQuest ABI/Inform Complete database.It is a favorite of students. For current events, you can't beat the FACTIVA database. Other databases to try are EBSCO Business Source Elite and LexisNexis Academic. General Reference Center Gold is a general interest database that can be used to find articles covering current events, popular culture, business and industry trends, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, etc.

For tutorials, other than the ones under the Database Tutorials tab (located at the top of the page), select the first link under Finding Articles or go to

Any time you have questions, the librarians love to help you; call 248.823.1228.


    Finding Articles

    These databases will help you locate magazine, journal, and newspaper articles to complete your research assignments.

    If you don't know how to get to the library databases, view the tutorial, Logging into the Library Portal, under Start with General Tutorials, located on the left hand side of the page.

    Help with Research

    • Research Companion
      The database provides short 5 minute videos on all aspects of research. Nine research modules in this online database help you evaluate information, select a topic, learn how to find information, revise and organize your research, avoid plagiarism, etc.

    Pros and Cons of Controversial Issues

    if you want to read both sides of a business or social issue, first go to the Opposing Viewpoints in Context database.

    For additional information from the web, try the Internet web site, database.



    What is the difference between a magazine and journal article?

    How do I find scholarly or peer-reviewed articles?

    How do I get the full text for an article when only the abstract is given?
    The E-Journals database will help you. More.

    Can I email articles to myself to avoid printing charges?
    Yes, many of the databases have the email feature allowing you to email articles.

    Can I use the cite feature on databases to generate APA citations?
    Yes, but be aware that the cite feature generated in the database may not be accurate. EBSCO Business Source Elite is usually the most accurate. For accuracy in citing articles, check the rules for citing in the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (REF BF 76.7 .P83 2010) or the library handouts.

    What do I do if I cannot find good information on my topic?
    Call 248.823.1228 (Troy) or 248.679.1410 (Novi) and ask to speak to a reference librarian or email with your questions. You can also visit the library for a one-on-one discussion with the reference librarian on duty.



    Troy Campus Library: 40 Research Computers


    Library Contact Information

             Troy Campus Library

    Phone: (248) 823-1228
    Fax: (248) 689-9066

    Reference Service Available
    Mon. - Thurs. 8:30 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.
    Fri. 8:30 a.m.-5:00 p.m. 
    Sat. 8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m
    Sunday: Noon - 5:00 p.m.
    Closed Sundays in the summer

    Fall, Winter, Spring Troy Library Hours of Operation
    Mon.-Thurs. 8:30 a.m.-10:30 a.m.
    Fri. . 8:30 a.m. -5:00 p.m.
    Saturday: 8:30 a.m.- 5:00 p.m.
    Sunday: Noon- 5:00 p.m..

             Novi Campus Library

    Phone: (248) 679-1410
    Fax: (248) 823-1044

    Reference Service Available
    Saturday: 8:30 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.
    Fri, & Sun: Closed


    Circulation Desk

    What's the circulation desk for?

    At the circ desk you can do the following: 

    • Get a library card
    • Check out books
    • Renew books
    • Return books
    • Obtain materials instructors have placed on reserve.
    • Request help with research and database searching from a librarian
    • Request help with logging onto the computers
    • Ask for help with library printing and computer problems


    Loading  Loading...